Four by Four 2020

Exhibit Details

February 27 - June 27, 2021
Eldredge, Spratlen, Hartman, and Armstrong Galleries

The biennial Four by Four 2020: Midwest Invitational Exhibition recognizes and encourages artists working in all media who reside in the four-state region of Missouri, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Kansas. The exhibit features work by four artists – one from each state – who will each exhibit a body of work. This year's artists will include Crystal Z. Campbell (Oklahoma), Rebecca Drolen (Arkansas), Rebecca Hackemann (Kansas) and Glyneisha Johnson (Missouri). A special juror of awards is tasked with designating a $3,000 cash prize to one artist for their body of work. This year's juror of awards is Maryamsadat Amirvaghefi, Assistant Director of Exhibitions at the University of Arkansas - Fayetteville.

The 2020 edition of Four by Four will present perspectives on the female body, history, race, family, and politics. These interactions will span media including photography, painting, drawing, sculpture, and video. An exhibition catalog will be available. Four by Four 2020 is curated by Sarah Buhr, Curator at the Springfield Art Museum.

A black and white logo that says Missouri Arts Council with an outline of the state of Missouri in t

Financial assistance for this project has been provided by the Missouri Arts Council, a state agency.

Four by Four Logo